Healthy Hair Healthy YOU – Preston Salon Spa

Back to school… Back to school… To prove to Dad that I’m not a fool.  Name that movie.  Ok, I will.  Billy Madison, obviously.  After the short three-day weekend I couldn’t get that song out of my head as I thought about my day ahead with my little third graders.  Whenever I make a change to my hair, no matter how small or drastic, they’re always sure to notice.  Since getting my hair done on Saturday and going a bit lighter and getting bangs, it will be interesting to hear what they have to say.  They’re always so honest, for better or worse!

Last January, I went from being a fake blonde to a more natural brunette for the first time in years.  I’ve enjoyed having brown hair again, but as spring draws near, I’ve been thinking about going a bit lighter again.  Preston Salon Spa is the only place where I trust anyone to do my hair.  Itz been in a business for over thirty years, and I’ve always left happy.  They have the most talented stylists who listen to their clients.  I like asking for my stylist’s opinion as they know what’s current, what’s trendy, and what’s not.  They offer advice for cuts, color, styling, and general hair care.

Daiva is the stylist who worked on me.  After conversation of what I was looking for, she went back to mix the color, and began the process of foiling my hair.  I have A LOT of hair, so itz quite the process!  Foil pictures are always flattering, no? 😉

highlights preston

Once my color was set, Daiva applied a toner before washing and conditioning my hair.  In addition to a change of color, I also wanted a change in my look.  I love changing it up, and I’m never scared because I always figure: itz hair – it will grow back if I don’t like it.  I ended up LOVING the cut she gave me!  I know it will take me a little while to learn how to style my bangs, but itz a task I’m up for!

How does getting my hair done fit into this blog of healthy living?  Let me explain.  I’m a firm believer that a big component of healthy living is being happy.  Itz important to do things that make you happy, and that includes being pampered once in awhile.  Spending money to pamper myself is not something I do very often.  I visit the salon once every three to four months, and you better believe I enjoy every minute of it.

Keeping your hair healthy after you leave the salon is just as important!  There are many products that aid in this process.  A few of my favorites:

kerastase

Kerastase is a phenomenal brand and one that is used frequently at Preston Salon Spa.  Their Reflection line is made specifically for color-treated or dry hair.  “Reflection is the first light-reflecting hair care regimen, which transforms each hair fiber, revealing mirror like shine.  Chroma Riche for dry, highlighted or color-treated hair features aqua Ionic Systeme to protect, nourish, add suppleness and shine.”  (source)

The Resistance product will be used as a reinforcing and refinishing treatment for damaged lengths and ends.  The Nutritive mask is a highly concentrated nourishing treatment.  These are life savers since I do use high heat to style my hair with the blow dryer, flat iron, and curling iron.

moroccan oil aveda

I’m sure you’ve all heard of Moroccanoil as there is a lot of hype about it in the hair world.  Here’s why as suggested in the Moroccanoil Treatment which is what I use: “Moroccanoil® Treatment’s versatile, nourishing and residue-free formula can be used as a conditioning, styling and finishing tool. It blends perfectly with other products and even speeds up drying time. This treatment for hair completely transforms and repairs as its formula transports lost proteins for strength; fatty acids, omega-3 oils and vitamins for shine; and antioxidants for protection. It absorbs instantly to fill gaps in hair created by heat, styling and environmental damage.” (source)

Impressive, right?  So versatile and so healthy for hair!  Aveda is another great line in hair care.  The Pure Abundance Style Prep infuses all day weightless volume; it helps refresh volume on non-shampoo days (which happen quite frequently around here!).  I love spritzing this in my hair after the gym to give my hair a little more life.  Plus it smells really good!

it's a 10

It’s A 10 is line that I’ve been using for a few years.  (Though I think it should be called Itz A 10…)  I specifically like the Miracle Leave-In Plus Keratin since I have received a Keratin treatment before. There are ten benefits that this product delivers: Maintenance of keratin straightening treatments, increasing styling and manageability, perfect for all hair types, replaces lost protein, protects the natural keratin in hair, protects against heat, restores hydration balance, detangles, defrizzes and adds shine. strengthens hair structure, and seals cuticles for extra silky hair.  Need I say anymore?

The last product that I’ll share with you today is the Kerastase Caressing Cleansing Balm.  This helps prevent fade which is obviously my goal after just getting my hair colored.  With all these products I’ll be able to keep my hair looking healthy which keeps me HAPPY!

itz linz

If you’re in the St. Louis area, you’ve got to check out Preston Salon Spa.  I assure you, you will leave with healthy hair and a happy smile!

What are your favorite hair products?

14 thoughts on “Healthy Hair Healthy YOU – Preston Salon Spa

  1. I love to change my style and color regularly. For about the last year now I have been letting mine grow longer for the first time since we got the boat in 2002. It’s a lot more work but fun.

    Your curls are lovely. How nice to have found a salon you can trust and love.

  2. Pretty hair!!! Love it. As you know, I’m a major hair styling lover. I’m super excited to see you have my all time favorite moroccan oil!!! I love that stuff, it’s incredible. The new hairdo is gorgeous!

  3. I am definitely lacking in the beauty department. I wash my hair every few days, and even then I am lazy about it..eek!! I have short hair right now so I can sort of get away with that. I don’t use anything fancy, usually just Tresseme or something like that. I do love your hair though!! Mine would never be that nice, so I always chop it!

Leave Some Love